The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Fountas and Pinnell Level: V

Grade Level: 6 – 8

Genre: Adventure

Theme: Survival

I read The Hunger Games aloud to my grade 7 class last year and they would not let me put it down.  This intense story of survival takes place in the future and involves 12 Districts.  Every year, each district must send one adolescent girl and one adolescent boy to the capitol for the to-the-death competition called The Hunger Games.  The Hunger Games is held in a different environment created by the Capitol.  The participants use various strategies from brains to brawn to overcome threats from “natural” disasters and each other to out-live their opponents.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book as did nearly everyone in my grade 7 class, boys and girls alike.  Many of them went on to search out and read both sequels, Catching Fire and Mockingjay.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: